top of page

5 Tips to Surviving Your Study Abroad

My prayers are for the families of the victims, the school, and the community of Parkland. May we always remember those lost in the recent tragedy, and pledge to do something for change.

 

I’ve had a lot of friends mention to me lately that they want to study abroad, that they want to experience learning in another country and culture. For this post, I have decided to write about the five essential tips that I have for those studying abroad.

1. The Research

Live spontaneously. This is a motto of mine that I have adopted over the last few years as I have found so much adventure in it alone. For instance bungee jumping, had I known that morning that I would be jumping into a 134 meter deep chasm 12 hours later, I probably wouldn’t of gotten up out of sheer nervousness.

Another example is just going to the beach, many days I wake up thinking I will do laundry, that has been my plan everyday for the last week. Rarely does this happen because often I spontaneously make the decision to go to the beach (yes, that does mean I have a giant pile of dirty clothes in the corner of my room).

Sticking to this motto is great for a lot of things, but spontaneously studying abroad is something I would never recommend. Before I even thought about making the pitch to my parents about studying abroad, I made sure that I knew everything about the school and country I wanted to go to. I knew everything from the sheep to people ratio, all the way to the classes I would be taking eight months later. I believe knowing facts about where you are intending to go is the most important aspect about studying abroad. In the first few weeks people would always ask me how things were going upon arrival, and I would always answer flawless. This is because I had a plan A, plan B, and plan C for every single occasion - I was prepared.

This may come across as a little studious, but if you want to ensure success in studying abroad, make it easier on yourself and do your research.

2. The Flight

After you do all the research, and your parents approve of you travelling halfway across the world, you can then find the best flights. In my experience with flying, I have found that purchasing tickets a few months in advance is vital to getting the lowest fare possible. Of course, if you purchase a ticket for travel around major holidays, fares will be higher. Next, you have to consider the day on which you fly out. I have found that Tuesday’s are the cheapest. Yes, if you compare it to days like Friday or Saturday it is only a few hundred bucks, but money is money.

Another lifesaving tip I have is to upgrade when possible. On almost all of my long haul flights, I have upgraded from economy to premium economy for relatively cheap. Don't upgrade when you buy tickets though, instead wait until you reach your gate. For example, on my plane ride from Auckland to LA last December, I initially bought the cheapest seat on the plane - the middle. I told myself that it would be fine if I was stuck in the middle but my plan was to upgrade. At the last minute, for only $50 more, I got placed in premium economy. And for this $50, I had an empty seat next to me, full recline because no one was behind me, and the window. I got a full 10 hours of sleep, two premium seats, and the best travel experience I've had for only $50 extra. This also happened on the way back but for a little more money.

Also, to clarify, I did not buy the tickets, my parents LOVINGLY invested in a trip so that I could see my family over the holiday. Thanks my dudes.

3. The People

After you arrive, shake the jet lag, and get settled into the Uni dorms, you will want to go out and explore the city. Most people I know would be hesitant about this because no one wants to explore a new city alone. What I have found though, is that through these solo adventures, I have met people from all walks of life. When you are with a group, you tend to stick together and not branch out. When you are alone however, your only option is to branch out.

An example of this is when I went to Queenstown. I was heading down with some people I knew, but I was all alone for the nights, so basically from 10pm-10am. In this time, I stayed in backpackers, stuck in a room with seven other strangers, none of which seemed to speak a lick of English. In the end though, people open up and you being to share stories (almost all of the people in my room spoke English as a second language).

Without a doubt this was one of my most favourite experiences ever. All you have to do is say hello to one person and you will get caught sharing stories and adventures until the break of dawn. It is here that I realized the key to meeting new people, is by going on solo adventures, kind of ironic when you think about it.

So, don’t fret about the "alone" aspect of studying abroad, because if you put yourself out there and willfully experience your city solo, you will meet some of the coolest people with the most interesting life stories.

4. The Studying

Ok, you've had your fun, now it's time to study. After all of your adventures and storytelling experiences, you have to snap back to reality and hit the books. The tip here is embracing your unique opportunity, this is paramount to a successful study abroad. I constantly tell myself, “Ethan, you are in a foreign country, studying, and experiencing things other people only dream of.” Honestly, how blessed can one be to first, have the opportunity to travel, and second, to study in general. Heaps of individuals all over the world only fantasize of having the chance to attend school, and I’ve been blessed to attend one of the greatest in not only the country, but the world (I believe civil engineering is top 50 in the world at UC).

Don’t get angry about having to set an alarm, don’t get mad when you have to study, instead rejoice in the fact that you are on foreign soil having a once in a lifetime opportunity.

5. The Growing Up

Of course, you are going to come across obstacles, and not everything will go flawlessly. Obtaining a visa can sometimes be the biggest obstacle for some countries. New Zealand has some of the toughest customs on the planet, it's imperative that you have a great deal of proof that you are deserving of a visa.

Another "obstacle" is the seemingly exponential jump into adulthood. This is the first time in my life that I’ve been completely independent. I’ve had to grow up and learn how to adult. My parents aren’t here to help me if something goes wrong, and sure I can text them, but it is still on me to fix the problem. Eventually you get used to it, but it takes a while to adjust to.

Lastly, you are going to have to overcome homesickness. I'm not saying that you college students shouldn't be feeling homesick, because I know how badly some of you have felt it. I am simply saying that it’s different when it takes you 20 hours by flight just to get home. Leaving my family and my closest friends was the hardest decision to make, but if anything, it draws you all closer together because you cherish the time you have together. You realize who your closest and most true friends are because they are the ones who actually take the time out of their busy schedules to reach out to you.

At the end of the day, you are going to endure hardships, but the most important thing is to focus on the good and realize that you are beyond blessed to have such a humbling opportunity become of you.

 

Look at you, you've actually read my blog! Thank you for taking the time to read, hopefully these tips can add a bit of perspective on the whole study abroad situation. If anyone would like me to write about something specific, please leave a comment below or on the home page of my website.

Peace!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page